Zoo Board Officers and Key Staff

Key Staff of the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium

President and CEO – Tom Stalf
Executive Vice President / Chief Finance Officer – Greg Bell
Senior Vice President Animal Care and Conservation – Lewis Greene
Senior Vice President, Guest Relations and Business Strategies – John Gannon
Senior Vice President, Planning and Design - Terri Kepes
Senior Vice President, Operations / Sustainability - Jen Ryan
Senior Vice President, Human Resources - Carman Wirtz
Senior Vice President, Community Engagement - Donna Zuiderweg

Governing Boards

The Columbus Zoological Park Association is a 501(c) (3) not-for-profit corporation. The twenty-two member Board of Directors meets monthly to oversee the operations of the Zoo. The tax levy receipts received by the Zoo are administered by a public Appointed Board that consists of eighteen members. Six members are designated by the City of Columbus, six by the Franklin County Commissioners and six by the Columbus Zoological Park Association. It has a one hundred twenty-member Association that meets quarterly.

Columbus Zoo Board of Directors*

Chairperson - James Balthaser, Esquire, Thompson Hine LLP
Vice Chairperson - Chad Jester, Nationwide Insurance
Secretary - Keith Shumate, Squire Patton Boggs LLP
Treasurer - Craig Marshall, Ernst and Young LLP
President and CEO (non-voting) - Tom Stalf

Columbus Zoo Board of Directors Members*

Scott Caine, Chairperson, Philanthropy Committee, Consultant
Sally Curley, Member at Large, Cardinal Health
Joseph W. Donovan, M.D., Chairperson, Conservation & Collection Management Committee, Riverside Hospital
William T. Grové, Member At Large, UBS Financial Services, Inc.
Jeremy Gutierrez, Member at Large, Huntington National Bank
Thomas J. Heiby, Chairperson, Marketing Committee, FraizierHeiby
Frances Henry, Member At Large, Fifth Third Bank
Stephanie Hightower, Member At Large, Columbus Urban League
Courtney Howard Hodapp, Member at Large, JP Morgan Chase
Chad Jester, Chairman, Board Governance Committee, Nationwide Insurance
Aimee Kennedy, Member At Large, Battelle
Gary J. Marcinick, Member At Large, Budros, Ruhlin & Roe, Inc.
Craig Marshall, Chairperson, Finance Committee, Ernst & Young LLP
John Matesich, Member At Large, Community Volunteer
Christian Medeiros, Fisher Board Fellow
J. Randall Schoedinger, Member At Large, Schoedinger Funeral & Cremation Service
Eric Smolenski, Chairperson, Audit Committee, Worthington Industries
Raja Sundararajan, Member at Large, AEP
Rita Wolfe, Member at Large, Dispatch Broadcast Group 
The Honorable Andrew Ginther (Ex-Officio), Mayor, City of Columbus 
The Honorable Zachary Klein (Ex-Officio), President, Columbus City Council
Tony Collins (Ex-Officio), Director, City of Columbus Recreation & Parks Department 
The Honorable John O'Grady (Ex-Officio), President, Franklin County Commissioners

Columbus Zoo Appointed Board*

President - James Balthaser, Thompson Hine LLP
Vice President - Chad Jester, Nationwide Insurance
Secretary- Keith Shumate, Squire Patton Boggs LLP
Treasurer - Craig Marshall, Ernst and Young LLP

Columbus Zoo Appointed Board Members*

James Balthaser, Zoo Association Representative, Thompson Hine LLP
TaKeysha Sheppard Cheney, Franklin County Representative, Molina Healthcare of Ohio, Inc.
Sally Curley, Zoo Association Representative, Cardinal Health
Joseph W. Donovan, M.D., Zoo Association Representative, Riverside Hospital
Jolene K. Hickman, City of Columbus Representative, JP Morgan Chase Bank NA
Chad Jester, City of Columbus Representative, Nationwide
Sherry R. Kish, City of Columbus Representative, City of Columbus
John J. Kulewicz, City of Columbus Representative, Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease, LLP
Craig Marshall, Zoo Association Representative, Ernst and Young LLP
Bernard F. Master, D.O., Franklin County Representative
Tim R. May, Zoo Association Representative, JP Morgan Chase Bank NA
Sean Mentel, Franklin County Representative, Mentel and Associates
Bonnie Milenthal, Franklin County Representative, The Milenthal-DelGrosso LLC
Susan D. Rector, City of Columbus Representative, Ice Miller LLP
Charles A. Rodenfels, AIA, Zoo Association Representative, Evans, Mechwart, Hambleton & Tilton, Inc.
Mary Rose, Franklin County Representative, Community Volunteer
Keith Shumate, City of Columbus Representative, Squire Patton Boggs LLP
Robert D. Weisman, Franklin County Representative, Ice Miller LLP

Columbus Zoo Association 

Larry Abbott, Aquatic Adventures Ohio, LLC
Carol Allerding, Experience Columbus
Ted L. Altenburg, Merrill Lynch
Carol J. Andreae, Crossroads Coaching
Stanford Apseloff, Ohio Distinctive Software, Inc.
Vanessa Arnold, Paralegal/Tax Preparation
Teresa Tykodi Berliner, American Electric Power
Arthur G.H. Bing, M.D., Community Volunteer
Diana Blessing, graphicAwards
Thomas E. Bogen, Community Volunteer
Laura Byrne, Byrne and Byrne LLP
John Cadwallader, Frost Brown Todd LLC
Thomas F. Calhoon, Prudential Calhoon Co.
Brian C. Campbell, KPMG LLP
Tom Carpenter, Columbus Mitsubshi
Mark Chambers, Keller Williams Consultants Realty
James J. Chester, Taft, Stettinius and Hollister, LLP
Susan Conrad, Community Volunteer
Kenneth L. Cooke, Past President, Intermedix Corporation
Ida Copenhaver, Community Volunteer
Larry L. Dill, Community Volunteer
Norma J. Dodge, Community Volunteer
William Ehrgood, Columbus Division of Fire 
Catherine L. Ferrari, Community Volunteer
Ann T. Gallagher, Gallagher Consulting Group
Ronald L. Geese, The Geese Group LLC
Christopher Godley, Hylant Group
Theresa Harris, Blackwell Consulting Services of Ohio, LLC
Jeffery E. Hastings, Community Volunteer
James C. Henry, Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute 
Uri Holmes, III, Preferred Capital Management
William L. Hoy, Past President, Columbus Sign Company
Nikhil Hunshikatti, The Columbus Dispatch
Gordon J. Jablonka, Aquatic Adventures Ohio, LLC
Ray Ayton Jones, The Jones Company of America
Gilman D. Kirk, Jr., Past President, Community Volunteer
Kathy Koblentz, Past President, Ex-Officio, Community Volunteer
Brian Klopfer, Sussex Mortgage Company
George Kun, George Kun Travel and Incentives
James E. Kunk, Past President, Huntington National Bank
Christian E. Laver, Christian Laver & Associates
Michqua Levi, Marburn Academy
Subha Lembach , Franklin County Juvenile Justice Community Planning Institute
Douglas Lumpkin, Ohio Secretary of State’s Office
Kathleen A. MacGhee, Community Volunteer
Annie Marsico, City of Columbus
R. Brian Moore, Cardinal Health
Allison Neumann, Honda of America Manufacturing, Inc.
Michael A. Petrecca, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Edmund J. Reinhard, CPA, Crowe Horwath LLP
Janis Rosenthal, Thompson Hine LLP
Susan Scherer, Community Volunteer
Carey Schmitt, Ologie
Richard Shank, Community Volunteer
Steven P. Shepard, PNC Bank
Jon Shiroma, D.V.M., MedVet
Darren Shulman, President, Friends of the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium
Lewis R. Smoot, Jr., The Smoot Corporation
Jill Snyder, Metro Parks
Thomas M. Stockdale, Community Volunteer
Michelle Ulery, Right Way SCS
Michael J. Voinovich, CPA, BDO Columbus
Scott Wallace, Marsh USA
Bobbie Weiler, Community Volunteer
Charles M. Wharton, WesBanco 
Camille Wimbish, Ohio Voice
Norina V. Wolfe, Community Volunteer
William C. Wolfe, Jr., Past President, Community Volunteer
Clyde Woodburn, Community Volunteer
Connie Woodburn, Past President, Community Volunteer
John E. Zimmerman, Community Volunteer

Zoo Ambassadors

Michael H. Goldberg, RITERug
Michael Moore, Community Volunteer
Edwin L. Overmyer, Community Volunteer
Philip Pikelny, Community Volunteer
Mark D. Senff, Esquire, Baker & Hostetler LLP
Nathan P. Wymer, Nationwide
Ronald L. Waterman, Interstate Gas Supply Inc.

* Also members of Zoo Association